PROJECTS

BACK
The city and the sea. The patrimonalization of port cities (CIMAR)
COMPETITIVE PROJECTS

The city and the sea. The patrimonalization of port cities (CIMAR)

Funded by the Spanish Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness (HAR2013-48498-P)

The city and the sea. The patrimonalization of port cities.
Research centres
Institut Català de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural (ICRPC)
Universitat de Girona

Universitat de les Illes Balears

Universidad Pablo de Olavide de Sevilla

Universidad de Extremadura

Universidad del Pais vasco Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea

Universidad Católica de Murcia

Université de Laval (Canadá)

Museu Marítim de Barcelona

Museu de la Pesca de Palamós

Museu del Port de Tarragona

 

Call: Programa Estatal de Fomento de la Investigación Científica y Técnica

Funded by:

Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad

Period: 2015-2018

Main Researcher: Dr. Joaquim Nadal i Farreras

 

PROJECT WEBSITE

    PUBLICATIONS

  • La ciudad y el Mar  

Abstract

The contemporary cities have experienced deep mutations in its physical, material, economic and social aspects. These mutations are expressed in a geografical and sociological sense which is different from the traditional one, and in a landscape where the elements of the past some of them useless, obsolete and in risk of disappearing- survive as silent remains from a past which is different but essential to understand our present reality.
These questions lead the issues about cultural heritage and heritage uses in the main core of urban discussions.

Special plans for historical city centres, restoration and refurbishment projects, urban changes that propose new uses, the recovery of big historical buildings for new projects all these are achievements in the willingness to preserve the identity and the historical memory as something inherent to the very essence, the soul, of the city.


Of course, erroneous decisions about heritage such as the fossilization (city museum) or the desnaturalization of its heritage condition divert to an speculative trivialization that fosters theatrical city-set proposals which does not contribute to the desired invigoration but reinforce a vacuous and innocuous discourse.


The aim of the project is, based on these parameters, to focus the research on the relation between the city and the sea, the (maritme or fluvial) harbour installations, the urban surroundings and the concretions about territory, environment, landscape and society- that emerge from this relation.


We intend to address these issues from the case study of large port cities with complex urban dynamics as Barcelona and Tarragona (Catalonia), San Sebastian (Basque Country), Cartagena (Region of Murcia) and Palma de Mallorca (Balearic Islands), as well as medium sized cities like Tarifa in Andalusia, Bayona in the French Basque Country or Blanes and Palamos in the Costa Brava.


This is an interdisciplinary research working with the methodology of historical and heritage studies, urban analysis, and anthropology, to measure the range and impact of social change and the repercussions of changing the uses of the traditional society. Certainly, this is a multidisciplinary lecture of the city -a creative respect towards the heritage legacy received and an ambitious proposal for the future define the parameters of a plan that aims to weave together past, present and future. Provided that, of course, the past is integrated instead of liquidated as often occurs.

projectes_competitius/CIMAR_1.jpg

CIMAR Team

Joaquim Nadal Farreras (IP) 
Institut Català de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural 
jnadal@icrpc.cat

Joan Lluís Alegret 
Universitat de Girona 
juan.alegret@udg.edu
 

Eliseu Carbonell Camós 
Institut Català de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural 
eliseuc@icrpc.cat

Gemma Domènech 
Institut Català de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural 
gdomenech@icrpc.cat

Nadia Fava 
Universitat de Girona 
nadia.fava@udg.edu

Modesto García Jiménez 
Universidad Católica de Múrcia 
mgarcia@pdi.ucam.edu

Marisa García Vergara 
Universitat de Girona 
marisa.garcia@udg.edu

Alejandro Nicolás Miquel Novajra 
Universitat de les Illes Balears 
a.miquel@uib.es

Práxedes Muñoz Sánchez 
Universidad Católica de Múrcia 
pmunoz@ucam.edu

Juan Antonio Rubio Ardanaz 
Sociedad de Estudios Vascos (Eusko Ikaskuntza) 
rubioardanaz@yahoo.es

Saida Palou Rubio 
Universitat de Girona 
saida.palou@udg.edu

Isusko Vivas Ciarrusta 
Universidad del Pais Vasco Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea 
isusko.vivas@ehu.es


Sabrina Doyon 
Université de Laval (Canadá) 
Sabrina.Doyon@ant.ulaval.ca

Denis Hellebrandt da Silva 
University of East Anglia (UK) 
D.Hellebrandt@uea.ac.uk

Enric Garcia Domingo 
Museu Marítim de Barcelona 
garciade@diba.cat

Alfons Garrido Escobar 
Museu de la Pesca de Palamós
alfons.garrido@gmail.com

Miquel Martí Llambrich 
Museu de la Pesca de Palamós
miquel.marti@palamos.cat

Glòria Ñaco del Hoyo 
Museu de la Pesca de Palamós
gloria.naco@palamos.cat

Mercè Toldrà i Dalmau
Museu del Port de Tarragona 
merce.toldra@porttarragona.cat

José Manuel Matés Luque 
Investigador independiente 
j.matesluque@yahoo.es

Marc Morell Tipper 
Universitat de les Illes Balears 
marc.morell@uib.cat

Ángeles Corbacho Gandullo 
Universidad Pablo de Olavide de Sevilla 
mdcorgan@upo.es

Antoni Rojas Rabaneda 
Institut Català de Recerca en Patrimoni Cultural 
arojas@icrpc.cat

projectes_competitius/CIMAR_2.jpg

Frase Negra